National Parks

Yellowstone National Park's Old Faithful erupting a column of steam and superhot water. (Image credit: dreamstime)

The United States has 59 designated national parks and 358 other sites, including national monuments and memorials, that fall under the National Park Service, created by President Woodrow Wilson in 1916. The first national park was Yellowstone National Park, created in 1872. For pictures, news and information on national parks, read below.

Latest about national parks