Skip to main content

In Photos: Hurricane Maria Seen from Space

Hurricane Maria's Raging Intensity

hurricane maria

(Image credit: NOAA)

Hurricane Maria developed into a Category 5 storm for a second time on Sept. 19, the morning after it made landfall over the Caribbean island of Dominica. The storm weakened to a Category 4 after making landfall but quickly regained strength once it moved back over the warm ocean water. This view of the hurricane was acquired by the GOES-16 satellite, which is operated by NASA and the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA).

Frigid Cloud Tops

hurricane maria

(Image credit: NASA/NRL)

On Sept. 19 at 2:15 a.m. EDT (0615 UTC), the Moderate Resolution Imaging Spectroradiometer (MODIS) instrument aboard NASA's Aqua satellite measured the temperatures of Hurricane Maria's cloud tops. ​The data showed temperatures consistent with strong thunderstorms in Maria's eyewall at about minus 80 degrees Fahrenheit (minus 62.2 Celsius).

Hurricane Maria

hurricane maria

(Image credit: NASA/NOAA GOES)

The massive Category 5 storm boiled across the Caribbean Sea on Sept. 19. NOAA's GOES East satellite captured this visible-light image at 11 a.m. EDT (1500 GMT).

Warnings

hurricane maria

(Image credit: NOAA)

On Sept. 19, the NOAA issued a tropical-storm-force wind advisory that would remain in effect through Sept. 24.

Another Season

Hurricane Maria

(Image credit: NOAA)

NOAA's GOES-16 captured this geocolor image of Hurricanes Jose and Maria and Tropical Depression Lee simultaneously churning through the Atlantic Ocean on Sept. 18.

Maria Approaches the Caribbean

Hurricane Maria Sept 18

(Image credit: NASA/NOAA GOES Project)

This image of Hurricane Maria was taken by NOAA's GOES East satellite on Sept. 18 at 10:45 a.m. EDT (1445 GMT) as it strengthened to a Category 3 hurricane just east of the Leeward Islands. Hurricane Maria made landfall on the Caribbean island of Dominica as a Category 5 storm later that day at 9:15 p.m. EDT (0115 GMT on Sept. 19).

Maria's Projected Path

Hurricane Maria projected path

(Image credit: NOAA)

This graphic shows areas affected by Hurricane Maria, and the expected dates and times when the storm will arrive at those locations. The NOAA released this forecast on Sept. 18 at 5 p.m. EDT (2100 GMT).

Stormy Seas

hurricane maria

(Image credit: Newscom)

At a Category 1 storm, Hurricane Maria trekked across the Caribbean Sea toward the Leeward Islands in this GOES satellite image taken on Sept. 18.

Impressive Height

hurricane maria

(Image credit: Owen Kelley/NASA/JAXA)

On Sept. 18, NASA's Global Precipitation Measurement (GPM) satellite measured Hurricane Maria's cell at an imposing 10.41 miles (16.75 kilometers) altitude, stretching into the lower stratosphere.

A View from GOES-13

Hurricane Maria is seen by NOAA's GOES-13 satellite as the storm was located about 60 miles east of Martinique and moving toward the west-northwest near 10 mph on Sept. 18, 2017 at 11 a.m. EDT. At the time, Maria was a category 3 storm. It later strengthe

(Image credit: NOAA)

Hurricane Maria is seen by NOAA's GOES-13 satellite (also known as GOES East) as the storm was located about 60 miles east of Martinique and moving toward the west-northwest near 10 mph on Sept. 18 at 11 a.m. EDT. At the time, Maria was a Category 3 hurricane. It later strengthened to a Category 5.

Gaining Strength

Hurricanes Maria captured by NOAA's GOES-13 satellite on September 18, 2017.

(Image credit: NOAA/NASA)

NASA's GOES-East satellite captured this view of Hurricane Maria on Sept. 18 as the Category 3 storm quickly evolved into a Category 5.