Skip to main content

In Images: Hurricane Season 2012

Hurricane Michael

Hurricane Michael with a visible eye

(Image credit: NASA Goddard/MODIS Rapid Response Team)

This stunning visible image of Hurricane Michael was taken by the MODIS instrument aboard NASA's Aqua satellite on Sept. 6 at 12:20 p.m. EDT. Michael's eye is so clear that the ocean surface is visible through it.

Tropical Storm Nadine

Tropical Storm Nadine satellite image

(Image credit: NASA's GOES Project)

This visible image of Tropical Storm Nadine was captured by NOAA's GOES-13 satellite at 1445 UTC (10:45 a.m. EDT) on Sept. 12, 2012. The image shows that Nadine is developing a central dense overcast and bands of thunderstorms all around the storm.

Tropical Storm Oscar

Tropical Storm Oscar satellite image

(Image credit: NASA JPL, Ed Olsen)

NASA's Aqua satellite passed over Tropical Storm Oscar on Oct. 4, 2012, at 9:35 a.m. EDT (1335 UTC) when the bulk of Oscar's clouds and showers were southeast of the center of circulation as a result of northwesterly wind shear.

Tropical Storm Rafael

Tropical Storm Rafael

(Image credit: NASA MODIS Rapid Response Team)

Tropical Storm Rafael is seen here northeast of Puerto Rico, as captured by NASA's Aqua satellite on Oct. 14, 2012.

Hurricane Sandy

Hurricane Sandy

(Image credit: NOAA)

NOAA's GOES East satellite snapped this image of Hurricane Sandy at 10:45 a.m. EDT (1445 UTC) on Oct. 24, 2012, as it was headed for landfall on Jamaica.

Tropical Storm Tony

Tropical Storm Tony

(Image credit: NASA GOES Project)

NOAA's GOES-13 satellite captured an image of Tony on Oct. 24 at 7:45 a.m. EDT that revealed that Tony is relatively small as it moves through the central Atlantic.