Skip to main content

Family Portrait: Remnants of Lee & Hurricane Katia

lee-110909-02
(Image credit: NASA/NOAA)

One week after Hurricane Irene battered the East Coast of the United States with damaging winds and flooding rain, a less-touted, plodding storm system soaked the eastern half of the country with more widespread and nearly as abundant rain as its predecessor. Tropical Storm Lee had a short official life as a named storm, but its effects lasted nearly a week.

Officially declared a tropical storm late on September 2, Lee reached its peak sustained winds of 57 miles (92 kilometers) per hourwell below hurricane forceon September 3 before making landfall on the Gulf Coast. By September 5, the storm was no longer a tropical depression, yet it was only beginning its march from Louisiana to soggy New England and the Mid-Atlantic.

The satellite image above shows the remnants of Lee and several other weather systems mashed together in the eastern U.S. at 14:02 Universal Time (10:02 a.m. Eastern Daylight Time) on September 7, 2011. Hurricane Katia whirls well out in the Atlantic Ocean, but plays a key role in stalling the storms over land.

Watch the progress of the weather systems from 13:02 Universal Time (9:02 a.m. EDT) on September 2 through 11:32 UTC (7:32 a.m. EDT) on September 9, 2011. The still image and the animation were built from images acquired every 515 minutes by the GOES-East satellite.

Live Science Staff
For the science geek in everyone, Live Science offers a fascinating window into the natural and technological world, delivering comprehensive and compelling news and analysis on everything from dinosaur discoveries, archaeological finds and amazing animals to health, innovation and wearable technology. We aim to empower and inspire our readers with the tools needed to understand the world and appreciate its everyday awe.