Skip to main content

Watch LIVE @ 5:40 p.m. ET: 2017 Ig Nobel Awards

Ready for some science that will make you laugh, and then make you think? The 27th annual Ig Nobel Prize Ceremony is tonight, and you can watch it live, beginning at 5:40 p.m. ET. Held at Harvard University in Boston, the Ig Nobels honor unconventional achievements in science and other areas, with prizes awarded by Nobel Laureates.

Kicking off the ceremony will be a mini-concert by the Boston Typewriter Orchestra, performed entirely on typewriters. Master of Ceremonies Marc Abrahams, editor of the Annals of Improbable Research, presides over the event, which will include presentation of the Ig Nobel Prizes by Nobel laureates such as Eric Maskin (winner of the 2007 Nobel Prize in Economics), Roy Glauber (winner of the 2005 Nobel Prize in Physics), and Oliver Hart (winner of the 2016 Nobel Prize in Economics).

Also taking place onstage will be a series of 24-second lectures on topics such as bots, sponges, biomedical research and sheep-dragging. The evening culminates in a performance of "The Incompetence Opera," a mini-opera with a libretto written by Marc Abrahams, in which a bartender and a psychologist commiserate about how promotions and opportunities seem to happen the most to those who deserve it the least.

Want more? Get acquainted with previous Ig Nobel winners and watch highlights of past ceremonies in the archives of the Annals of Improbable Research website.

Original article on Live Science.

Mindy Weisberger
Mindy Weisberger is a senior writer for Live Science covering general science topics, especially those relating to brains, bodies, and behaviors in humans and other animals — living and extinct. Mindy studied filmmaking at Columbia University; her videos about dinosaurs, biodiversity, human origins, evolution, and astrophysics appear in the American Museum of Natural History, on YouTube, and in museums and science centers worldwide. Follow Mindy on Twitter.