Dead Sea Scrolls

Dead Sea Scroll
(Image credit: Keystone/Getty)

Found in 12 caves in the West Bank, the Dead Sea Scrolls consist of thousands of fragments from over 900 manuscripts that may have been written by a sect called the Essenes. They contain texts from the Hebrew Bible as well as calendars, astronomical observations and community rules. Here, Live Science brings you all the latest news about newfound scrolls, decoded fragments and all the mystery surrounding the discoveries.

Latest about dead sea scrolls